FIVE – Two Sets of Footsteps in the Sand…

My God is my refuge, and my strength.

I have recently come to understand the magnitude of God’s power. My 2019 started in a way that I was not expecting, but it would appear that’s what life is; a million unexpected little moments, some good, some bad.

But God is with us through it all.

By all means, I expected to be broken by what happened at the beginning of this year. What I was not expecting was to be filled with peace, a peace which could have only come from God. I have no other explanation for it, was its magnitude and power.

Having that peace, at a time when I felt all hope should have been lost, conveyed to me how powerful our God is; he can give me the strength and peace I need to get through a situation that alone, in my own strength, I would not have.

This is how powerful our God is. He is more powerful than any human emotion or the events that happen to us. Also, He holds fast to us through everything that happens to us in this life, His footsteps always seen walking beside our own in the sand. He never promises us that we will not experience pain, or suffering, in this life, but He does always promise to be with us in the pain.

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they will not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be scorched, nor will the flame burn you.” – Isaiah 43:2 (NASB)

Jesus has been before us; He suffered more than we will ever suffer, as a human man, and yet there is something so encouraging in that. If He lived this life for God, with all its temptations and all the suffering that was thrown His way, so can I.

As of now, I have absolutely no idea what my future looks like. But that’s exciting. God knows the plans He has for me, plans for hope, and a future. He did not bring me this far to leave me, and I know that in following His will for my life, my future is secure. I cannot wait to see where He takes me. He knows the desires of my heart better than I do, and He will give me everything I need to do His work.

“‘For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope‘.” – Jeremiah 29:11 (NASB)

In this difficult time, He has revealed Himself to me through my wonderful friends,  my church, my family, and the books I’m reading. I have drawn close to the Lord in a way I’ve never done before, placing complete trust in Him as I have been shown time and time again how He loves me, and how He will give me everything I need.

He will give me everything I need.

More than that, though, I have learned that my God is everything I need, and He has proven that to me time, and time, again. I feel so blessed to know Him, to be loved by Him and to be able to love Him also, and most importantly, to serve him. I feel so grateful for the life He has given me, for the ways in which He leads me, for the direction He is taking me in and the way He is shaping my life.

I feel secure. This year has taught me how to build my life on the strongest of foundations, and I’ve been able to relax, enjoy the rest of my year, look forward to the future, because I know I am supported by that strength which is unfaltering, immeasurable, unchangeable.

My God is my refuge, and my strength. He is the strong foundation on which I have re-built my life, and I cannot, will not, be moved.

Kate (Tales of Faith) – 01/07/19

Instagram // Facebook

One thought on “FIVE – Two Sets of Footsteps in the Sand…

Leave a comment